A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

In nations around the globe with burgeoning populations, it is becoming harder than ever to design a curriculum to best equip their people for the future. In addition, the task of determining the knowledge and worth of a student has started depending on their syllabus instead of their ability. However, having a common national curriculum can help alleviate that issue.

The biggest advantage of having a national curriculum is that it makes it much easier for universities to evaluate high school students when they graduate. Due to the common teaching material, the test results of students are a clear reflection of their diligence and hard work throughout the previous four years. No longer will there be issues such as inflated grades due to an easier curriculum in one state, while there are other states with lower grades. This will reduce the red tape and make the college admission process a lot more transparent.

A major issue with designing a curriculum for students is finding the best source material to teach. With a national syllabus, teaching associations around the nation can work together to glean the best material from a number of books. Since everyone will have the same books to study from, accessibility to these books will increase tremendously. This will greatly help those from disadvantaged backgrounds, as they don't need to purchase new books if they need to move from one school to another. Also, internet guides for these subjects can also be made easily available from a plethora of sources.

In addition, it becomes easier to evaluate the teaching ability of teachers in different states. The didactic skills of lecturers will be easier to gauge with the common syllabi. With the same source material available to everyone, the amount of learning that occurs in classrooms is a function of the talent of the instructors. The results of students in various schools around the country will largely depend on their teachers and hence, it becomes easier for both the parents and the government to better rate schools. Also, it allows schools themselves to better understand their staff and how they fare compared to the rest of the country.

Despite all these advantages, a common rebuttal that comes up against a national curriculum is that there will be portions which will not be as useful to students in the future. However, this argument only holds true at higher grades. In lower classes, what is taught to students is more or less the same, and a nationalized curriculum will augment the efficacy of learning. Although there may be extraneous information taught to students in higher grades as well, they will be able to specialize in their interests when they enter universities. In addition, since they will be exposed to information from various spheres of life, they will be better equipped to know what they wish to do in the future.

Hence, creating a nationalized curriculum will greatly help streamline the education industry -- making it easier to evaluate both teachers and students and reduces costs. Although there are minor arguments against it, the advantages largely outweigh them.