Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Do we really need laws to preserve nature? Will these laws not hinder the development of a nation? But is development more necessary than the existence of any life? As mankind has alreday done enough damage to the nature, nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.

The statement concludes that nations should conserve any wild areas in their natural forms. Human intervention has already caused enough damage to the environment. Cutting large number of trees, setting up industries and improper management of industrial waste has lead to increased pollution, deforestation, ozone layer depletion and global warming. The tempreture of earth is rising two degree celcius every decade, resulting in rising sea levels and jeopardising small islands. If we do not act soon, the existence of human or any living being is in peril. Governments can restrict some areas as natural reserves and prohibits any human intervention. This shall help neutralizing some of the atrocious effects of industrialization and other human activities. Only plants and trees can help recover what is lost in the process of human development.

Moreover, since last century some animals have become extinct - Javan Tigers, Golden Frogs etc, and many more are on the verge of extinction - Sharks, Lions etc. To further our development we are turning forests into farmlands and industrial land. Lack of natural habitat is a factor that pose threat to wild animals. Government can set up wildlife sanctuaries. This can help preservation of many species. For example, the dwindling population of Bengal Tigers has regained after special efforts of Indian government - proscribing hunting, setting up wild life parks, maintaining natural habitat for tigers etc. Also these sanctuaries can act as tourist spots and generate some revenue for the government. This shows how preserving wilderness can help existence for various species.

However, sometimes economics factors such as demands of rising population can prevent government from passing any such laws. Human do need natural resources. We depend extensively on wood, fossil fuels, land etc. If all the remaining wilderness is made inaccessible, we may not even be able to perform trivial tasks - we need coal for electricity, wood for paper, fuel for vehicles etc. Also, in many African countries, where most of the land is still in its natural form, these laws may precludes any further development. In preserving such wilderness government must relinquish the heavy taxes it can obtain on these natural resources.

In sum, preserving wilderness is the only option to extend the existence of life on earth. Every nation should take the responsibility to safeguard any wilderness left in their respective lands.