As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

The rapid growth of technology helping human beings to carry out tasks at minimum time and more efficiently. This drastic change of doing things with machines or completely by machines has caused more dependence of our on them. I agree with the author that this over-dependence has resulted in a steady decline in human intelligence in doing basic things.

Before the evolution of the calculator, people used to count mentally. Surprising thing was that they had mastered this skill over time and were able to subtract, multiply, division, and addition of two numbers accurately most of the time. The good thing was of this is one was able to calculate at any time and any place. Today people generally tend to do even small calculation in calculator which can be easily done mentally. This shows a deterioration of skill and confidence of human being on self.

The discovery of computers has dramatically changed the way how humans now work. The inventions like the washing machine and vacuum cleaner have made human life more relaxing. Similarly, since the invention of the television caused people to stick around their sofa for a very long time which results in an increase in ignorance towards more necessary activities.

Today it is hard to find one who is not on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. As a result, this virtual world has hijacked the almost whole real world. The distance between people has increased while social media sites aimed to connect people. One with hundreds of friends on these websites often feels lonely in the real world.