People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What is ‘critical’ and who is the most critical person? It is not a simple task to identify which person is more critical. The prompt states that the extent of commitment to the idea or policy could be a criterion. In my opinion, I agree with this idea and argue that the more people are devoted to an idea or policy, the more critical they are of it for two reasons.

First of all, would it be possible to be ‘truly’ critical in specific subject without deeply being committed? It does not necessarily be the case. Being a critical person requires a lot of knowledge and enthusiasm per se. Who were regarded critical people in historical perspective? I can suggest some historical pioneers such as Thomas Edison, Albert Einstein, Von Noiman, and so on. They all are considered as great people in their fields. The way they could be such a great would have been their deep devotion to their areas. For example, Thomas Edison realized the inconvenience of life without light, which led the marvelous invention of light bulb. Albert Einstein committed his life to reveal the unknown theory at his time, which led to prove the Theory of Relativity. In other words, by being into the area, they were able to know which parts were missed in the human knowledge and devote their life to shed new light on the critical thinking. Thus, I believe that the commitment to an idea or policy is a necessary condition to be a critical person.

Then, how about being ‘not critical’? Without having critical attitude, it is hard to devote to some areas. Being a critical person is the paramount importance in commitment. For instance, a student who has never been critical might have no experience in devoting some specific subjects. If he only passively receives the information at school without criticism, he cannot have any chance to be into that area. Suppose that he is learning about history and he is just trying to memorize all the things while studying. Would it be interesting for him? He will not have interest in history subject if he does not have to take exam. In this case, it cannot be a ‘true devotion’. To deeply commit in the subject, it should be practiced voluntarily and actively. Therefore, having a critical attitude is the foremost requirement to the commitment.

Of course, some may argue that there are many people who are deeply committed to an idea while never being critical. The may suggest that our hard working neighbors who are really devoting to their works are not necessarily critical. However, I believe that those cannot be truly devoted people. If there is no restriction to do their work in everyday life, they will not devote to the work entirely.