People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In recent years, there has been a heated discussion on whether zealous followers of an idea or policy will be the most critical of it or not. Some people agree with the argument since deep commitments are more likely to induce critiques. While others disagree with the claim and suggest that those people would be guardians of the idea or policy they support. This essay is going to argue that, to a large extent, people who are most deeply committed to an idea or policy are not likely to be critical of it, because those people are more inclined to improve the ideas instead of criticise them, and their minds would be constrained by certain ways of thinking and thus cannot realise the flaws within those ideas and policies.

Admittedly, there do not exist ideas or policies as unimpeachable. Each idea has its pros and cons, and each policy must benefit a group of people at a cost of the utility of other groups. Therefore, zealous followers of ideas and policies are more likely to notice the downsides of them because they spend more time thinking about them. Consequently, they may be more critical to those ideas and policies.

However, it requires exceptional impartialness to be critical of the ideas and policies that people are deeply committed to. A far more possible response, when facing imperfections of ideas, is trying to improve and generalise it. For example, most of the economists acknowledge that current economic models are not a reflection of the human society. But instead of criticising and abolishing the models, economists keep complicating them, attempting to incorporate more aspects to make them more realistic. Therefore, it can be observed from the reaction of economists that antagonists of certain ideas are more likely to make every effort to improve and guard the theories they believe before criticise them.

Furthermore, a deeper reason, making people unable to criticise the ideas they are committed to, is that the fundamental assumptions lurking underneath the ideas are often being accepted unconsciously. In this case, the more people believe in that theory, the harder for them to realise the errors in that fundamental assumption. An example can be Newton’s motion theory, suggesting that the weight of everything is stable. Most people accept that assumption unwittingly, and thus they would never find out the flaw of Newton’s theory, no matter how much time them devoted to it.

In conclusion, this essay has argued that people deeply committed to an idea or a policy are less likely to be critical of it. Even though thinking of a certain idea for a longer period appears to

make it easier to find out the flaw within its logic, that does not necessarily lead to critiques. Because firstly, people are more intended to improve the ideas and policies before criticising them. And secondly, if accepting the fundamental assumptions unwittingly, it is even harder for them to suspect the theory. Further discussions can be conducted on statistical investigations of how many critics were initially zealous supporters of certain ideas and policies.