People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When people are deeply involved in their beliefs or advocacy, they are unyielding to objections or other voices, because they insist that they are right. Quite often they do not see the flip side of the matter, but their opponents do. Although critics may seem to be too acrimonious, or even contemptuous, they also let those stubborn people know that they are blinded by their own complacency; their ideas might not be as perfect as they thought.

Since it takes loyalty, allegiance, and commitment to advocate for a policy, a law, or a movement, the supporters are too involved in the idea to think about anything would revoke it. While they are deeply brain-washed by the idea, they have to continue to be engaged in order to convince other people to support them as well. The Communists in China will make a good example. When Chairman Mao told all his citizens that the communism had just doubled the gross economic growth of the whole nation during the Great Leap period, he fully believed that the controlled economic market had turned China into a Utopia. Why would he ever doubt himself when all he saw was the smiles on peasants’ faces and harvest everywhere? Many people are so devoted to communism and still do not see the harm the Great Leap movement had brought. Because of the single-minded people who are too involved to their advocacy, the economy of the whole nation was in negative growth for ten years.

Critics who are usually thought as finicky and acerbic play an important role in providing an opposite set of minds, allowing the overheated people to slow down and review what they have done. This is why the United States has the checks and balance system, avoiding overpowering and centralization of authority. A policy has to go through the Congress and the president before it can be enforced, no matter how right or wrong it is. President elect Donald Trump has made disrespectful and degrading comments about females, and still did not show any regret or remorse for what he said. It was not until more females came forth and revealed more of his scandal that he toned down some of his arrogance and superiority toward women. When a figure is deeply dedicated to his ideas he tends to become a zealot who is not capable of listening to others, especially those critical to him. How will he be able to criticize his own beliefs?

Indeed, there are such people who are loyal supporters of their work but never forget to look at their work from the flip side. Committing to an idea means good understanding of every aspect of it; the advocates should see the pros and cons of their ideas better than anybody else if they are well-rounded enough to accept it from both ways. Dr. Nobel was one of those types. He was well aware of the power of explosive and therefore, he developed a safer type, the dynamite. Although it was safer, he also clearly realized that how dangerous it would be and how much death it would cause if it was not used with discretion: it is a weapon after all.

Leaders, politicians, scientists, and anyone who are deeply committed to their ideas will not be able to see their deficiencies or criticize themselves. There are a few perspicacious individuals who have the more inclusive minds that can support their own ideas while being critical about it. Nonetheless, many people are not as scrupulous and they still tend to take partisanship in their ideas.