People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The issue here of whether or not people are poor decision makers as they make decisions based on their emotions is a contentious one. While each side has it's strengths and weaknesses, I believe decisions which are based on logic rather than emotions are good decisions.

First, decisions which have to be taken at the very crucial stages of life like choosing a stream of education for further studies should be based on logic as all criteria have to be considered while selecting a stream. Questions like Are you interested in taking that course? what is the

future of stream? or Are there ample job opportunities? should be answered before making the selection. If a student selects stream just because his friend has selected it, he would not do good in that field. This would then be a decision made on the basis of an emotion called "friendship".

Second, one of the most important decisions of life is choosing a life partner. Your husband/wife is the person with whom you will be spending the rest of your life and this decision has to be taken oneself. If the decision is left on parents and you blindly follow it and at the later stage you realize that you and your partner are not compatible, it would spoils your life further. If before marriage itself you made all the analysis then such situation wouldn't have occurred.

Third, if scientists who have made great inventions in their life would have applied emotions in their discovery then there would probably be no new technology at our disposal. If Wright brothers would have applied logic then there would be no invention of planes.

Some may argue that all decisions need not be only based on logic. If a small child is facing trouble adjusting in the school, even though the school is eminent for its teaching and other things, parents would make the decision of changing the school, only because their child is not comfortable. They do not give a second thought to it because for them their child comes first. Such decisions even though are made on emotions but there is logic involved that there are other schools too which are as good as the previous one and the child would be comfortable going there.

In conclusion, decisions based on logic are well reasoned out and though are mostly right as much thought is given behind it. Decisions are based on emotions are done in haste so chances of them being wrong are more. For these reasons I agree that people who make decisions based on emotions are poor decision makers.