Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The selection of field of study is one of the most essential decision in the life of student. The decision should be based on his potential and interest to excel in the chosen field of study. There are some people believe that student should decide his field of study considering his talent and interest, while there are some people believe that student should consider job prospects of the field before choosing it. I think student should first find his interest and based on that he should decide his field of study.

If students will choose their field of study considering their interests and talents then there is a high chances of them to excel in the selected field. As we know that, human tends to perform best when he do work of his interest. The number of students who are failing after selecting wrong career path will reduce, as students will be selecting their career considering their potentials. For instance, since last 10-15 years, in India number of students choosing to pursue Engineering has increased dramatically. The main reason of this rise is future job prospects but the sad part is that, number of survey has shown that students are pursuing engineering without interest and they don't have potential to do it. This has resulted into high number of drop out students and unemployable engineers. There is no guarantee that the job prospects of a particular field will remain good in future also, as technology is changing very rapidly.

As, we call current era as "Digital Era", the digitization has dramatically increased in every field. The automation is taking over traditional jobs and producing a number of jobs. In this rapidly changing world if students will not think about future job prospects of different field than there is a chance that their chosen field may not be as importance as currently or may become obsolete. The one of the major motive of students studying is to get a good job with high salary. Hence, it is not right to say that students should ignore the job prospects of different field of study.

In conclusion, students should decide their career path considering all these factors. They should find out their interest and potential first and then should checkout the current and future job prospects also in order to be significant in this rapidly advancing world.