The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Yes, I agree with the given statement that the country is not defined by the achievments of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but overall the people who live in it. It is always the people who define the country's stature for 'Happiness Index', and all other indices. People of the country states the standard of living.

We can know more about this with the example of Netherlands. Netherlands being a small country with a population of nearly 15 million to 35 million has very high standard of living, and is ranked number 1 in 'Human Development Index' although, with significantly small population than other developed countries it has very high quality of life. The people took care of the country as it is their own home, they won't litter waste on roads, parks or in any public places, the air quality index is also controlled because of good enviroment maintained by everyone. Even though Netherlands does not have any achievement which might be signifcant to other nations it has claimed the health, well-being, their own people as number one priority. Netherlands doesn't count the greatness achieved by its rulers or artists but general public. If general public has achieved all of its goals then Netherlands has achieved all of its goals.

In contrast we can see that Somalia, and Syria are not on same page as of Netherlands. They tend have to believe that the country is great nation if they can prove that the their leader is only greatest. They make a belief that accolades by artists are not worthy of exalt but anything done by the their leader no matter how insignificant and worst it is, shall be worthy of praise by everyone else. Studies by Oxford University claim that the nations run by rulers (dictators) 95% end up in ruins, or bankrupt. Public of that nation always end up revolting against the ruler and asking any other foreign nation to interfere making people lose their own motherland.

It is always the general public of a country who is garlanded by praises and accolades. Ruler is just a representative of the nation who is choosen by the people, for the people. Although artists, scientists have great significance to make country prosperous, erudite but if people are not willing to accept them it makes impossible for the country to go forth in the future. All scientists and artist might leave the nation and may not come back again.

A nation is whole if and only if its people are treated in proper respect because it is them who define the status of the country if it is good or bad in terms like behavior, Happiness Index, Development Index and all other parameters which are used by UNICEF, UN. The better the people are the better the countries standard of living, Human development Index, Happiness Index, and helping index is.