The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

When a country gets stronger, when it really comes up to the stage of the globe, it is more likely to be judged by the world, and people tend to set a benchmark to judge the power of one nation. Some hold the view that the most definite indicator of a great nation is the general well-being of all its people, instead of the achievements of its rules, renowned artists, or scientists. I strongly agree with the idea in three reasons.

To begin, the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists is not exclusive, and one achievement from one country can be shared and applied to the whole world. As the trend of globalization, the communication in according field are getting closer and more dense, thus the national border of those fields are getting blurred. For instance, Elon Musk, being one of the most famous entrepreneur and any other kind of titles, created many international companies, Tesla, SpaceX for example, and also funded some technology companies worldwide. We can recognize Tesla cars on roads in many countries and SpaceX satellites providing StarLink signals for every part of the earth continent, and more and more people have applied ChatGPT in their work and life, which is also a tech funded by Musk. We cannot say that such contribution is exclusive to Elon’s motherland only, and it should be everyone on the planet to share the fortune, to have a person that boosted the tech evolution.

Also, one nation’s people made up the most part of a nation, thus people usually reflect the country’s strategy, power, resources and culture. For instance, in the past three years, the globe were suffering from the Covid pandemic, and citizen’s from different nations lived a quite different life. Some struggled to buy tissue, water, or virus-proof mask, some faced the crushed hospital system, and still some are lucky enough to have just adequate living resource. I have to admit that in the pandemic, countries are under and being test by the same enormous pressure. And in difficulties, the comparatively not so suffered people should indicate that their nation has a greater power to better control the serious situation. Those people’s life are greatly influence by the country, by how the country arrange the resource, how it react towards big events and how it balance the nation budget. Thus, the general well-being of people is the most objective mirror to the country’s power.

To sum up, it is not saying that we cannot judge the power of the country by such achievements, but those achievements is conclusive and thus cannot most objectively describe the situation. And the general well-being of the country’s people is the comprehensive receiver of the country’s nearly everything, including the achievements made by great people in all kinds of fields, thus can be the best the indicator of one nation’s power.