"The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people." Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

No matter how many great pundits, artists, politicians, who can make people that the people of the nation proud the country has, if the people do not feel happy for being a part of the nation, all the exploit of such a great people would go vein. Consider a nation which only supports so-called upper-class people, while has no interest in caring impoverished people so prevalent in the nation. Would the nation deserve to be called as a great nation? This thought experiment brings up another question: if the common people in a nation are all happy, while the country has no academic exploits or great political leader, would the nation deserve to be called as a great nation?

Some people surely prioritize the achievements of so-called "big men" when he or she evaluates a nation to determine whether it is great or not. Using feats of the big men has numerous advantages. First, it is easier to operationalize. When it comes to "indicator", using the happiness or satisfaction to measure the greatness of a certain nation is not a good option because there will be an infinite number of ways to measure welfare, no reason to say that there will be no way that all people would agree with. While academic, artistic, and political feats are still not a perfect indicator because there will be controversy, for example, when determining which nation's art piece is better. Nonetheless, it is clear that they are still better than using welfare, which is invisible matter. Indicator needs to be objective especially when it is used to decide such a controversial matter like the greatness of a nation. Welfare is such a volatile matter. Even you get an exquisite level of social service from the government, when your house suffers from a flood or when your close friend dies, your welfare would plummet.

However, at this moment, we should mind a simple truth: when there are no people, there would be no nation. Think in this way. Can we call a cuisine mainly based on meat sauce but has a hint of lettuce a vegetarian meal for having a vegetable in it? Those who can leave his or her name in the history only makes up for the really minuscule amount of all the people in the nation. Now think why so many nations out there indicated the rule of democracy in their constitution. Common men deserve the same amount of attention as experts when it comes to construction of a nation. Therefore, it is nonsense to exclude common people. But there is still a challenge: welfare is not a good indicator. It is untenable and hard to draw consensus among the people. Fortunately, there are myriad of ways that allow us to use welfare as an indicator like GDP. Or maybe we can construct a questionnaire to ask people that they are generally happy.

There is no single right way to determine a certain nation is a great nation or not. There will be an exact same number of definition of a great nation as the number of people. However, it is important to note that we should consider the nation as a whole, for example, by considering general welfare of its people, not merely using milestone of a small portion of people in a nation just because of its easiness to be operationalized.