The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general

welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning

for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The vast wealth of Gaddafi, the ruler of libya, was well known. But the genral condition of the people of Libya were very poor. There are so many example like this where the achievement of a particular person might stand out but that does not indicates how well a nation is doing. The most comprehensive indication of how a nation is doing is the by the life style and standard of living of its mass people.

Individual achievements never represent the condition of the whole nation. It is possible that an anomaly might have occured. If we look at Pakistan, where the condition of human rights are egregious, a intenationally recognised social advocate like Malala has risen. But that does not mean the whole country is thriving in this sector. Again, If we look at Bangladesh, the unemployment rate is sky rocketing. Many graduates are not getting jobs despite having a proper education. But the GDP of bangladesh is ever high. This is because of the few business sectors controlled by political parties, that are doing well. But this does not give the clear picture of the sufferings of the young generation in Bangladesh. Furthermore, India has produced so many CEO of several multinational companies, but still lack in providing the basic sanitation facilities which resulted many serious contagious diseases in the recent time.

At the same time, if we focus on developed coutries, like United states, Finland, Germany etc. all of these countries have focused more on the civil rights issues. They have placed a goverment system which is bound to answer to the calls of the mass people. There are so many programs that actually take of the people even when they are not contributing much value to the society. This is because one nation cannot move forward relying on only few people. The nations as a whole have to be taken care of if they want to be successful. We have seen Leader Like Aung Sang Syu Ki, Who was championed as Human Right activist, turned a blind eye to the attrion done by the army. This has sheared a major thread of harmony in their society and hindered the overal economical progress on myanmar.

Although it is true that the more emphasis is always given on the nation as whole, how well they are doing, we have seen many captivating personalities who have grabed the lime light for their nations in the international arena. We have seen Musicians like A.R. Rahman from India, Leader like Sheik Mujibor Rahman from Bangladesh to rise to the international stage and represented the very nature and wealth of the country in that arena. We have seen countries damaged by war like Afganistan to take pride in their national team, which is moral boost for the nation. This helps achievement sometimes helps the nation to stay united.

In colcusion, we can say that how a country is doing is best understood by what is the standard of the life for the mass people. That is the most significant indicator for a great nations. Individual achievement of are of imporatance by they don't convey the full picture of the nation.