The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people are of the opinion that the surest indicator of a great nation is defined through the achievements of its rulers, artist, or scientists. However, some others oppose it while sharing the idea that the general welfare of the people have to be considered. As far as I am concerned, the general welfare of the people is fairly important to be taken into account, and my reasons are as follows.

To begin with, it should come as no surprise if we claim that achievements of rulers, artists and scientists as well as their living conditions is very important in all over the world. They are usually well-known people and they are who introduce more their society at the first glance. They are known as the classes of people who significantly contribute in developing a society from different aspects. For example, in every society the circumstances in which the professors or doctors or teachers live is indicative of very important things, first of which is the level of importance and priority that governments and people give to education and technology. As another example, artists can be mentioned. If artists in a community are not satisfied with their conditions, that represents that people are not mentally or emotionally healthy as much as they have to be. As a result, these elements have the first priority which hae to be taken into account in investigating a surest indicator for a great nation.

However, after carefully bearing in the mined, it can be seen that the classes of people mentioned above are not the only classes who live on the earth. As known to all, all of the people have the same right to live on the earth, it is what governments striving to reach and it has become a controversial topic in the world today. Although jobs mentioned above are very important and the professionals of these jobs play key roles in boosting the economy or promoting the social-related problems of a society, there are many more jobs with their expertises which have to be considered, such as shop owners, students, those who have not any job and the like. The general welfare is not only the extent of people salary, but also it is the facilities which they are provided with, like: healthy foods, decent hospital.

To sum up, the general welfare of people, their feelings and the wxtent to which they are satisfied with their lives are all pivotal elements which have to be taken into account. At the end, just considering a special part of the society is not fairy and sound idea.