The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The argument presented by the author outstrips the achievements of rulers, artists and scientists to welfare of the people as a beckon of consummate nation. Before delving deep into the position taken by the author one needs to know what makes a nation great? The development of a nation depends on several key elements such as education system, health care, social welfare, scientific research and leadership etc. These elements altogether, are considered to feed the growth of any nations. If a nation or its government is comprising with any of these elements than there are less likely chances for overall growth of a nation. Let us analyze the role of these factors.

First of all, the definition of a great nation has kept on changing over the last few decades. During medieval time, a nation was considered great if its people are not deprived of the basic needs of life viz food, shelter and clothing. But that perception has changed now. Instead, in contemporary times, a prosperous nation is the one which is able to provide the good quality of education, sanitation facilities, ample of job opportunities, internet, protection from invaders and ensure the human rights are not violated. In order to achieve all aforementioned facilities, a nation needs a great team from various backgrounds such as science, arts, politics. No single achievement by any of these can make a nation great. Consider for example, North Korea leader, Kim Jong-un, is putting the defense and nuclear programs ahead of the need of its people. One report has estimated that over 60% of the adolescents are suffering from malnutrition. Privation and oppression of people has led to fleeing the country itself. The dictum of tyrant leader is considered supreme and there are no courts to challenge him.

On the contrary, it can be argued that a nation would be able to utilize is resources in best and effective way if it has great leaders. But that belief is biased as there can be several loop holes in the process of choosing a leader and his intentions. For instance, there could be a leader who is indulged in corruption and has siphoned the taxpayer’s money for his welfare. In this case they might be a successful businessman but that does not depict the correct picture of growth of the nation.

Conclusively, it is not the accolade of one section- of the elements of growth- of the nation that makes a nation great rather its overall combined effort of all section that constitutes prosperity of a nation. It should be preferred to find a correct balance between public welfare and other elements.