To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

To understand the vital characteristics if a society, means to understand that the society comprises. Characteristics of a society is reflected by its members. The member of a society may have certain differences along with the similarities; A society is a set of the different elements it has. One who wish to understand a society needs to, at first, understand what a society is build with. The best way to do so, in my opinion, is to study the major cities along with the study of the rural characteristics of the society. For example, if one wish to understand the Nepalese society, it is certainly not sufficient to just study some big cities like Kathmandu, Pokhara, or Butwal; these cities represent only the modern life of Nepal, where as the actual characteristics of a society of Nepal can be understood by experiencing life away from the hectic life of these big cities.

Firstly, to understand the important characteristics means to understand the cultural, social, religious, economic, and of course other many aspects of the society, which are special among the society. A person studying such aspects on a major city will, undoubtedly, show that people in such cities are self-centered; everyone have their job to keep. He may see the lacking in the some of the important characteristics of society; like cooperation, mutual understanding, interdependence, as everyone is busy making their own life. He might also see some big temples or monasteries build and and preserved and also many people visiting such places might show the devotion of people but these places have rather to a tourist destination than true devotion. In these large cities, people from surrounding smaller towns and cities migrate to fulfill their dreams and make their life better then ever it was; but while they struggle to make their life a better place, they forget about the society and began to act more like a programmed robots. This is when the rural life takes over the self-centered city life.

Usually, the characteristics of the rural life is based on working with in the limited resources: working in the farms, raising cattle and so on. It is seen, in the rural area, that people have a lot better life than on cities. People in rural area are more devoted to the cultural and religious aspects, as they tend to preserve the cultures which have been inherited from their forebears. Co-operations between the members can be easily seen in such places, one happily helps other in the need, as the other person does. This is not to say that there is not any sense of competition between them, it is the competition that keeps us alive, but the sense of understanding and the feeling of unity out-rules the competitions.

While it is true that, the rural life readily reflects the characteristics of a society; it is not understand that the major cites does not play any role in the characteristics of the society. But the competition and the greed of being wealthy of a person living in such big cities have failed to meet the definition of society. Therefore, it might not be sufficient only to study some major cities and declare the characteristics of the whole society.

In conclusion, it can be inferred that the characteristics of society varies with the nature of the person living on such community and it may be a good idea to include different parts of society to study the characteristics of a society.