To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays, it is an undeniable fact that people are tending to move to cities, leaving lots of villages forlorn. However, in my opinion, although main cities are a rich source of information for sociological studies, it is excessive to conclude from this that they are the only factor that defines its characteristics, as the cultural and economic contribution of villages is crucial to its development.

To exemplify this, there are a lot of traditions in villages which define the main aspects of different societies. In lots of traditional festivals in Spain, animal abuse is a common practice, as people find it amusing. The commonplaceness of this ritual in lots of towns in the country makes it be seen a normal activity, although, from a third country’s perspective, it may seem unconscious. This way of thinking is absolutely not due to the typical activities done in big cities.

However, although the facts presented in the last paragraph might hold true on most occasions, it is clear that the force of the statement depends on how urbanite the societies under study are. In the United States, the influence of rural life in states such as Texas or Alabama is incomparable to its importance in mostly urban states, such as New York or Florida. The picturesque image of an almost abandoned village where the sheriff of the city fights against the Indian people in western movies has nothing to share with the competitive societies shown in other films, such as The Wolf of Wall Street (taking in account, as well, the time difference between both ways of living). The main difference between those films is the state they take part in, as one is absolutely more rural than the other, and, in that one, the villages define the characteristics of the society more than the cities do.

In conclusion, I am convinced that, although the study of the major cities of a society is fundamental to determine its main characteristics, they are not the only source of information that should be taken in account, as the omission of the way of living in villages can lead to a misunderstanding of the behavior of societies.