To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The United States began its history from the eastern part of its territory and gradually expanded to its western part. That’s why the cities in New England show the tradition of early Americans and the cities adjacent to the Pacific reveal the innovation of modern Americans. Therefore, I fully support that one must look into the major cities in order to comprehend certain society.

First of all, major cities have historical sites which enable foreigners to understand the history and narratives of that society. Whenever tourists visit Republic of Korea, for example, they often go to Gyungbok palace and Korea national museum located in Seoul, which is Korea’s capital city. By doing so, foreigners are able to understand Korean tradition and the past of Korean people. Gyungbok palace explains that once Korean society was a dynasty which was governed by king and Korea national museum retains old treasures which show the aesthetic of Korean beauty. Therefore, without the major city like Seoul, it would be much harder to grasp the image and the characteristics of Korean society.

Secondly, the markets in major cities show the lifestyle of that society. Even though the globalization has made us consume similar products all around the world, what people eat and how they get dressed are totally different from society to society. The way we can observe the distinct characteristics of that society is going to the market and see the products presented on the shelves. In European societies, people eat bread a lot, whereas East Asians usually eat rice for their staple food. In addition, the dress code of mannequins also deserves intriguing observation. The city makes it possible to distribute products and form the trend among the locals. This is the apparent reason one should look into the major cities to understand that society.

Lastly, it is much easier to observe the characteristics of one society in major cities because there are lots of people who conform the implicit rules of that society. In Paris, for instance, people often grab the door for others. This is their custom and foreigners can learn it by experiencing the kindness of Parisians many times. But in the rural or suburban area, it is hard to accumulate enough experiences to understand and learn the tacit habits of locals because there are fewer people in those areas than major cities. Hence, it would be even better to comprehend one society in major cities thanks to the abundant population.

In conclusion, I believe that one can truly understand another society by studying its major cities. In major cities, they have many historical sites which allow foreigners to shape the images of that society and understand their origins. Besides, the markets in major cities show the consuming trend of people in that society, which is one of the important characteristics in the society. Foreigners are also able to get to know the implicit rules in one society much easier in major cities because cities have lots of people who can represent those customs. All of these reasons explains why tourists visit Washington D.C. and New York rather than small counties in United States.