Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

University is an important place in one's life which develops students into independent individuals. This is the place where students learn myraid of things. One of the important things to a student in an university is their field of study or subjects they choose. The statement asserts that Universities should require every studebt to take variety of courses outside the student's field of study. It may be true that having knowledge in courses other than their field of study may help individuals to understand other fields better. However, Personally I feel that students should be given the freedom to choose the subjects they want to study mainly for below reasons.

Firstly, students stay in an university for a very short time studying the subjects from their field of study. The student usually wishes to study more subjects from their branch of interest and gain deep insights into that in this short time. So is it justified to compel the students to study the subjects other than they wish to study in this short period of time? For instance, forcing medicine student to study engineering subjects may not be of much use to that student as he wants to gain more knowledge in medicine and become a better doctor. Thus above example illustrates that the students shouldn't be forced to pick up the subjects that university wants.

Secondly, students may not have equal aptitude to different subjects. Forcing the student to study the subject to which he doesn't have any aptitude may affect his performance. For instance, if a history student doesn't have an aptitude towards Maths and if he was forced to pick up maths courses, he may end up spending more time to get pass mark in Maths. Thus the student will neither be able to get good marks in maths nor in history as he has put majority of time in Maths. Hence, the above example illustrates how forcing student to pickup the subjects they don't have aptitude towards may affecte performance.

Finally, students to need to compete in different examinations to get into jobs they want or for even higher studies. Taking time out from these students and forcing them to study subjects other than thier major field of study may not be useful to them. For instance, if the university forces engineering student to take history courses he may waste precious time in which he could have prepared engineering related topics and get a good job that he wished. In addition to loosing precious time the history topics may not be useful to engineering students in their future. Hence, the above example illustrates how forcing students to take particular courses may waste their time and affect their career.

Some may argue that having knowledge from other fields may help them to apply knowledge to their own field and get better results. However, isn't the choice of choosing the subjects should be left to students as they are the ones who need to put time and work hard to achieve good knowledge in those subjects. Thus the choice of choosing courses should be left to students.