Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The author of the statement above argued that university students should be required to attend only to the courses which best match their field of interest. Personally, I tend to mostly disagree with his sentence as even if, nowadays, high specialization is strictly required in business scene, it is also fundamental to have a wide knowledge.

In this essay I will introduce my personal opinion providing supports of my thesis on both working and personal side.

Firstly, I will talk about the effect of the policy implementation on working side. Even if it is often argued that the hire of more specialized students could increase the technical level of a company, the results on the net productivity are less certain. In the latest times, it is becoming even more common to make people work in multidisciplinary teams. For this reason, I am strongly convinced that having a wider knowledge, which includes even other fields aside of the one of main interest, could help employees to better collaborate and understand each other.

Even if the implementation of the policy would bring more skilled student, it would be too much dangerous for the working environment.

On the other side of the argument, having a multi-fields background studies could support people also in their personal lives. As a matter of fact, having different interest make people more openminded and motivated to understand the world as a whole and not as something divided into tiny pieces. A good example of that were 15th century’s scientists, as Galileo Galilei. He is worldwide know for his physical studies, but just the minority know that he was also a brilliant writer. Of course his works were about his scientific researches but his writing style suggests that he also had a deep background in literature.

Because of thus, the policy adoption may represent a risk to make students become less passionate about life and less eager to know.

In conclusion, the policy described by the author of the sentence above would be dangerous for pupils in both their working and personal life, as they won’t be able to interact with people coming from different studies and they will lose an overall view of what the world is.