As a vibrant community of learners dedicated to inclusive excellence, the students, faculty and staff at the University of Colorado Boulder seek to be open and respectful of contrasting beliefs and opinions. Every student has a unique life experience and a set of circumstances by which they are shaped and influenced. Your background may have been shaped by family history, cultural traditions, race, ethnicity, religion, politics, income, ideology, gender identity or sexual orientation.

Reflect on your unique background and tell us about a time when you had to relate to someone whose life experience was very different from your own. How did you approach the difference? If put in a similar situation again today, would you respond differently? If so, how?

Coming from a small town, I had limited sense of understanding of ever growing world due to various resource constraints. My entire high school time was spent on playing only one sport, Cricket, and studying for the exam. The only purpose of playing was to get a happiness and purpose of studying was to get good grade which eventually help to get a good job. While on the other hand, a child brought up in metro city has better sense of following his or her dream as they have better options to explore the resources available at their exposure in early phase of life.

Not all the students from small town and metro city have similar experience. It can vary from person to person. In my case, it was mostly influenced by my family’s background and financial situations. My parents themselves were not educated but the most crucial thing they taught me was the importance of education. My parents felt that they don’t let their children to suffer from the struggle which they had already experienced by not completing their degree. I was solely responsible for making my own decisions about my future. For the students, who have been studying in the metro city, may have various options of getting consultancy or guidance.

I realized at early stage of my life that it would be difficult to exploit my true potential in the small town due to limited opportunities. So, I decided to pursue one of the influencing field of mankind, engineering and most importantly from outside of my comfort zone. So, I pursued my undergraduate in a city called Vidhyanagar, the education hub of our state. In this place, brightest minds of state come and compete among one another. For 4 years in my undergrad study, I interacted with so many students who belong to metro cities. Rather than becoming nervous or insecure, I tried to learn from them. In the first year itself, I learned the various use of internet and social media platform. By far this was one of my important phases where I put myself into challenging situations and learned lot of things at personal level. I took this challenge and achieved not only satisfactory grades but also one of the high ranker in class. This place has taught me the real competition required in the industry

During my final year of college, I decided to help my juniors from the high school. I have encourage them to get out of their comfort-zone and explore the whole new cities with people from different mind-set.

The hard-work in my undergrad study helped me to get a job in the field of industry which interests me the most. Once I placed in the Infosys, 2nd largest consulting firm, my learning curve grew exponentially. The organization helped me not only in professional way but also in personal way. Undoubtedly, it helped me to explore my interest. Additionally, it provided me the platform to work in major cities across India and familiarize with different part and culture of our nation. I gained lot of experiences and developed variety of hobbies (like lawn tennis, singing, dancing etc.) which I couldn’t imagine of following. Also, the industry experience and working with global clients across the world prepared me for the any challenges to cater in future. While gaining work experience in industry and engaging myself into various studies strike me to go for pursuing master program at one of the greatest colleges across the world.

By deciding to pursue graduate study from different country will again put me in the same situation as in undergraduate study. However, my experience of undergraduate study and work experience will really help me with in this situation and I am confident enough to perform in such challenging environment.