The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Every society has its own pre-established laws, norms and biases which have been passed down from centuries. These practices have been influenced from learnings in the past that were too important to not to be passed down to future generations. These practices, however, should be upgraded as the world surrounding up changes. Changing these practices or thought processes which have been given to us by society is essential or else our society would be orthodox. These innate constraints of society can only be upgraded if we keep questioning it. In this essay, I will provide two main reasons with contextual examples how questioning the society is important.

Swami Vivekananda, the great sage of India who shed new light on Hinduism in 1864 at the Conference of Religions of Chicago, did not even accept the spiritual practices of his own master Shri Ramakrishnan when he began his journey. He even dared to mock and naively questioned Shri Ramakrishnan about the divinity of his Gods. It is solely because of this naivety of Swami Vivekananda he was able to devote his life to the spread the knowledge of the Vedas and keep the mission of his master alive. My point is that questioning the authority of the society helps us believe in it more. If we find rationality and logic behind the practices or biases of any society, we are sure to accept it.

Before the influence of the British, Indians used to practice sati, the live burning of a widow on her late husband’s cremation. I cannot imagine why these practices came into being in the first place, but when the cruel British took over even, they were shocked to see people practice sati. Back then, no one dare question the practices of the society; and those who did so, were banned from the society. Hence, until and unless we question the practices and the authority of the society, we will not be able to abolish the wrong things in it.

I would conclude by saying that no society is perfect. But it is only the act of questioning that will ever bring society next to perfection.