Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Logic must always have a starting point from which to grow. When humans had no knowledge of science, the only logical answer to the origin of life was that a deity created it. When evolution was discovered, the logical answer was that humans originated from single celled organisms which were able to develop mechanisms for mitosis and eventually complex organisms. The premise from which to begin making logical steps is key to obtaining the correct answer, and the same applies to decision making. When an emotion is taken as the root from which the logic tree grows, there is a risk that the person takes of being dissatisfied later on with the decision they made. This is because emotion is not constant, fading as time from the event which caused the emotion increases. The decision may not be subjectively bad from the makers point of view, but objectively without the personal understanding of the emotion, will not be a logical decision.

Decisions which originate in emotion could have fatal consequences. For example, there is a patient who is suitable for organ donation and another which is in desperate need of an organ, however the donor does not hold a donation card so the next of kin must make the decision. The next of kin may be in a highly emotional state, arguing that organ donation would defile the body of the deceased, or is not accepted in their religion, justifying it from there. The decision originating in logic would be to prevent another death, donating the organ with no hesitation. In another situation, riling someone up to make them emotional may be a tactic to making them make a bad decision. For example a pushy salesman warning of the limited stock, causing the person to be stressed into buying something that they would not usually purchase. Certainly in this case starting from the logical position of whether the item was needed or not would cause much less future regret.

Highly successful people such as CEOs have a reputation for making hard decisions- decisions that many would find distasteful when looked at from an emotional point of view, but when looked at objectively would make sense. This is the reason why psychopaths are able to be so successful and work highly stressful jobs- because emotion does not cloud their judgement, allowing them to make decisions which are logical and in their best interests.

However, this may be a boon as much as it may be self serving. Emotion is an evolutionary development which brings humans closer. Empathy allows us to put ourselves in the shoes of others, and do things that are purely selfless. If we always took the logical position, we would never be able to justify to ourselves giving charity, or helping a stranger. In this case emotion is a vital lifeblood of a cohesive society, without decisions based on emotion and justified by logic we would have much more self interest and possibly crime.

Decision making must be practised, and a taste for when using emotion or logic is most suitable. We do not allow young people to vote till they are 18, but we give them practice situations to vote at school. Complete detachment is not the answer, however empathy and emotion should be considered with caution, and time must be given for emotion to fade and allow good judgement to prevail.