Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option.

It is true that the loss of a myriad number of minority languages is being explicit in the last few decades. Although this is taken blatantly easily by some, I strongly disagree with the viewpoint and believe that grave concern is imminent to assure the preservation of these endangered languages.

Minority languages are inextricably linked to the culture of individuals who speak these languages. They are not just the collocation of words or a mere means of communication, but embrace within them the glorious past of the speakers. When a language dies, a whole tradition, culture and custom associated with it experience a great threat. As a result, cultural diversity that had ascribed interesting social ambience might die. By a way of illustration, with the extinction of a Roman language that had dominated the world in the history, Roman culture and values is now almost obsolete. Had the case been otherwise, people could savour more of Roman tradition at the moment. Hence, protection of language indirectly implies to preservation of cultural diversity in a community.

Sense of belonging to a community is the other aspect that the existence of minority languages can be credited of. Group of people using the same language feel related to each-other in a unique way. An instant bond can be created, for example, particularly when one in a foreign country gets to hear other talking in his/her language. In Nepal, a number of minority languages speakers organise frequent gathering in a community that has successfully tightened their bond. Therefore, sense of attachment built among minor language speakers can serve to breed togetherness.

In the final analysis, an easy assumption that extinction of minority languages is of less importance is not prudent. Not only does conservation of these languages attribute strong connection to the past, but also forge togetherness among people in the present and in the future.