some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely acknowledged by people that the society is increasingly full of competitions and young people must work hard to achieve success. As a result, some people may conclude that in order to become superior in adulthood, children need to be cultivated a sense of competition. Whereas others argue that cooperation outweigh competition in making children useful adults. Below, the essay will discuss both sides and reach a conclusion.

With regard to competition in children, it is undeniably necessary for several reasons. The first point to explain is that competition stimulates children to think independently and critically, which is a significant ability in their future career prospects. With the intention to be more outstanding than others, children are willing to perform their tasks well and design various methods to achieve their goals, thereby developing their habits of contemplating problems. Another benefit of competition is that children become strong-willed and are brave enough to combat any difficulties. In fact, they have been accustomed to facing fiercely competitive conditions, so they have already been trained well in physical and mental aspects and are not afraid of other troubles.

In terms of merits of cooperation, the first conspicuous advantage is that cooperation can foster team spirit in children’ minds, a required ability in their future work. Children, in the course of cooperation, learn to listen to others’ ideas and sometimes are subject to their peers so as to achieve common goals. Also, cooperation encourage children to share their opinions with each others, which greatly prompts their interaction and come up with new ideas. Children can also draw on strengths from their fellows and complement their own shortcomings.

A far as I am concerned, I take the view that both cooperation and competition are demanded in the growth of children. While competition urges children to be independent and strong-willed, cooperation can allow them to be integrated into their peers and achieve greater tasks with combined efforts. Competition and cooperation are not contradictory with each other and both can foster children’s development.