19.3.2022: Some people believe that schools should teach forgeign languages for primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantage?

In the globalized educational and business environments, there are various primary schools that tend to teach other languages besides their mother tongue in their curriculum. Despite this phenomenon may raise concerns, I am of the opinion that this development is generally more favorable.

On the one hand, several reasons explain the negative sides of a dramatic increase in the learning of foreign languages. First of all, it relates to the lack of a healthy lifestyle when students only sit down in front of the table and spend hours learning and using computers or smartphones. Therefore, kids do not have enough time to play which affects their both mental and physical health, or the opportunity to be part of a community. Moreover, many parents only know for themselves and ignore their children's thoughts and desires. They are too expected of kids and comparing their abilities with other people put invisible pressure on children.

On the other hand, I would argue that teaching foreign languages to primary school students is more beneficial in terms of developing themselves and their chances in the future. Firstly, children can gain more knowledge about diverse and unique cultures and develop an awareness of other exotic people. As a result, it stimulates their curiosity and exploration which are essential in the integration society nowadays. In addition, foreign languages are undoubtedly a crucial tool to open more job opportunities. Many companies tend to recruit those who possess expert language skills so that children will have chances to work in various fields such as interpretation, diplomacy, aviation, etc.

To sum up, being bilingual is the most precious gift that your parents may give to you. Nevertheless, you will be able to move easily in the world and make friends with people on the opposite side of the planet.