Action movies with spectacular car chases are very popular with young people. It is often said that these sorts of movies lead to an increase in car accidents among young drivers as they try to copy what they have seen in the films.

Do you agree that such movies increase the amount of bad driving? What can be done to encourage young people to drive more safely?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Undoubtedly, youngsters are highly fond of those action films which showcase high-speed car chase sequences such as "Fast and the Furious". While it might be true that these movies influence young minds who try to imitate such scenes in reality and cause car accidents however, I do not agree that movies are to blame for the rising number of road accidents. I would discuss it further with some steps that can be taken to motivate younger ones to drive safer.

To begin with, I disagree with this accusation on action movies because I believe that there are several other reasons making the youth drive inappropriately. First of all, almost all of them are found to be driving badly to reach their respective destinations on time, just because they did not start early. Without any doubt, driving it in a hurry can lead to drastic consequences. Another major cause of increasing mishaps on roads is the usage of cell-phones. These days, people can be easily found sticked to their phones while eating, walking, travelling in a train or bus, et cetera. Car drivers also fall under this category. It is a common thing to notice among young-adult drivers, that they are talking on their phones while driving and calling themselves the multi-taskers. The fatality of such a habit is needless to mention. One more reason that I would like to highlight here is that many parents allow their children to drive even without getting trained and licensed. Such immature drivers cause accidents which could have been easily averted.

On the other hand, motivating young drivers to drive in a harmless manner can be the key to making roads safer. In order to do this, it is necessary to make them realise the extent of damage their mistakes on roads can lead to. Not only it can put them on beds for months, disturbing their life devastatingly, but also it can put their future at stake if they are charges by the law-makers of something that might have incurred a great loss to others witnessing the same. Unless and until the youngsters understand this, they would never be careful enough to stay away from such unwanted trouble. It is necessary for them to value their lives which again needs a mature guidance. Apart from this, strictness can also lead to encouragement. If there are strict laws governing drivers on the roads with even stricter punishments like abolishment of drivers, then it would definitely make the drivers abide by it to not lose their right.

To conclude, it can be said that bad driving is caused by various reasons such as rushing somewhere in a hurry however, there are many ways which can urge young drivers to be the good ones on roads. Blaming action movies would not solve anything.