Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reducing the need of manual labour work is done by improvements in technology and automation. Hence, it is argued that working hours need to be curtailed. In my opinion, I completely agree with this notion and the reasons which are glanced through tailed paragraphs.

To embark on it, spending less hours at a workplace has several benefits to both employees and the companies also. First and foremost, owing to digitalization, many works are done by machines. Therefore, people are able to do more tasks in a short period of time. It is necessary for employees to spend time with their friends and family. As a result, reducing working hours may increase social life of employees. Another is, it can enhance their quality of work. What I mean, having less time at a workplace helps people to concentrate more on works. Thus, efficiency of employees would be augmented.

Another point to consider is that keeping lower stress level. In other words, in offices, people are always under too much pressure which increases stress in them. If they spend more time on sleep and exercise, then it will decrease the stress in them. For instance, New York Times revealed that those who have less working hours are happy and have healthy life. Above mention reasons show that reducing working hours is beneficial and I agree with that.

In conclusion, automation and technological innovations have reduced the need of manpower at a work. So, need of working hours is also decreased and it can affect the life of employees in a better way