advertisement

In modern time, a huge amount of advertising is targeted at very young children. Individuals believe that this can have detrimental influences on children and should be prohibited. To a certain extent, I agree with this view, while I also believe that there are far more arguments to disagree with it.

On the one hand, this opinion seems to be unreasonable simply because children would be impaired performance about many positive businesses which sell the product for children without these advertisements. In evidence, several useful information in the product would become less available to children because the business can not run advertisements with the band of the government. Thus, banning advertisements would not only reduce sales of the companies but also lead them into a loss for the long term.

In spite of the arguments above, I also support this view for the following reasons. To commence with the misuse of business, people would misuse advertisements to sell the product for children who do not have sufficient awareness about spending. Take an example, in my country, where many Youtubers produce a wide range of funny video to attract children to buy their products. Therefore, Running advertisements could access to more children sell more product children although these products could not be suitable for children. Equally important is that few advertisements would influence children's aspect of life. To illustrate, unhealthy food and drinks usually targeted children who do not care about their health. Consequently, If the children consume more harmful food, they would suffer from more health problems such as obesity, disease or diabetes.

In conclusion, although I recognize possible arguments to reject this view, there are also persuasive reasons to believe that this idea is reasonable.