Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In this contemporary epoch, thanks to the advent of the Internet, advertisements are growing increasingly popular and become prominent in our daily life, leading some to ponder the consequences. From my perspective, I firmly believe that it is an overall negative phenomenon and should be unwelcomed.

There are certain stands why I reckon that the surge in quantities of commercials exerts several adverse impacts on customers. The first and perhaps the most persuasive reason is that it has become a nuisance to many people. Specifically, in the light of technological booming era, commercials has been rising on an unprecedented scale, with pop-ups, flyers and billboards being virtually everywhere. By this I mean, customers are often bombarded with all kinds of advertisements, making it increasingly challenging for them to be well-informed about a new line of product. Another reason is that advertising can be a dangerous distraction to drivers and pedestrians, as many billboards and posters with glaring neon lights and signs are placed around important intersections, which can be extremely hazardous. Last but not least, several ads attempt to tempt people into making unnecessary purchases. To illustrate, celebrity endorsement is used in many extravagant commercials to stimulate people to buy products that are of little use to them. For example, OPPO usually uses marketing strategies with famous characters such as Son Tung M-TP, Toc Tien, etc. to promote their smartphones, although they are often considered badly-designed.

Some opponents may insist that only by advertising can companies approach prospective customers. The most obvious proof is that were it not for commercials, it would be very difficult for sellers to get their products to the marketplace, and for buyers to be informed of new commodities. This view seems plausible at first; nevertheless, if their goods were appealing enough, they would not need to render advertising. For instance, Apple Inc rarely launches advertising campaigns for their line of product, but according to data compiled over the past 5 years, iPhone X, iPhone XR, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 and iPhone 13 respectively become the most sought-after devices by users.

In conclusion, from the aforementioned points, I reaffirm that commercials are detrimental for its adverse impacts on customers. It is also my recommendation that we should be wise consumers, who can see through those pieces of advertising and make sensible buying decisions.