Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us want to be and to look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is a creative industry and a key part of modern business notwithstanding, some people argue that advertising shapes viewers into the same figure by standardizing a model that everyone wants to become. I totally disagree with this notion.

Firstly, each person has a totally different tastes about style, trend, or item. Therefore, one fashion trend may be encouraged but in one look, there could be several versions. For example, short hair is a trend in many fashion magazines but still, a woman can choose different styles such as black short hair, red curly one, or straight bob hair. The own choice of a person make them different with other people in the world despite following a same advertisement.

furthermore, consumers in the present have become smarter in consumption. They always find clearly information of products they want to buy. Therefore, advertisement is only one of the factors to support for their choice, not the thing that make people look the same. With advertisement, consumer will have more choices and information of the products come from different brands.

To sum up, despite there exist some opinions about the identical effect of advertising on personal appearance of a man, I strongly believe that advertising could not make the difference of individuals disappear. In contrast, it brings human more choices and boosts various styles of a man.