Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us want to be and to look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a popular belief that the dearth of uniqueness among modern people can be perfectly exemplified in their outward appearance and consumption of products. Personally, while there are reasons suggesting that this proposition is true, I am completely against it.

On the one hand, it is rational to conclude that in the past the stereotypes of fashion style is often assimilated by culture. Women in the Oriental are required to wear dark clothes that do not show any cleavage, while beard grooming is compulsory among male counterparts. This is partly due to the limited access to the outside world, which does not facilitate exchange of fashion ideas and garment. Moreover, people in modern days are swayed by the styles of celebrities. The iconic hair style of Jennifer Aniston’s character in the TV series “Friends” during the 2000s, is a perfect example of this point.

On the other hand, people might be induced to consume unified products purely due to its inexpensiveness and reparability. The power of advertising is undeniable, as advertising campaigns of multinational companies such as Unilever have been so successful that their products almost dominate the market. Thus, this type of mass-produced goods drives the cost of production down, which leads to the fact that they are sold at a cheaper price than the other less well-known counterparts. Furthermore, replaceable parts for reputed brands like laptops, automobiles or cellphones are abundantly available, so that users can have their devices repaired in case they are out of order.

In conclusion, it is safe to say that the growing similarity in the preference of consumer products among people is due to the goods’ affordability and the influences of celebrities. This tendency, therefore, cannot be attributed to advertisements on all fronts.