Scientists tell us that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, million of people still continue doing unhealthy activities. What are the causes and what are the solutions for this?

It is a common practice that a large population does not lead a healthy lifestyle although they are fully aware of the negative consequences. Many people have questioned the motives behind this practice, and wondered whether there are measures to mitigate it. These would all be elaborated below.

To begin with, the perpetuity of bad habits could be accounted for by the convenience they are endowed with. Modern citizens are required to work full time to be able to cover monthly expenses, resulting in the fact that such a hectic pace of life does not allow people to have a self-prepared healthy meal. This induces workers to substitute their diet with greasy fast food, leading to permanent diseases such as obesity. In addition, as workers are susceptible to such a heavy workload, they must resort to caffeine substances to combat fatigue, which undoubtedly would take a toll on their well-being over time.

Regarding the solutions, it is imperative that managers ease the amount of work in an attempt to assist the personnel in ceasing deeply rooted and habitual acts. Additionally, by exercising a prohibition of cigarettes, coffee or offering incentives for employees who are willing to keep fit or abandon a sedentary lifestyle, managers could encourage a healthy working environment, which in turn are likely to promote productivity. Government involvement, meanwhile, could be significantly conducive in tackling this matter, as the authority could impose a higher tax on detrimental merchandise like junk food and tobacco to drive up the price of such goods and deter residents from consuming them.

In summary, by having the awareness of health care, citizens should restrain negative actions and therefore, they would not be subject to unexpected threatens to their health.