Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

Once a popular means of transport, bicycles have been falling out of favor for the last several decades despite the tremendous range of benefits that they have to offer. With a view to reviving the popularity of bicycles, this essay will first examine the causes for the loss of popularity in bicycle use.

Among the contributing factors to the decline in bicycle use, the rise of motorized vehicles and an infrastructure system discouraging the use of bikes are the most prominent ones. Particularly, automobiles and other vehicles powered by fuel have gradually replaced the two-wheeled vehicle on the street. This is understandable as those modern modes of transport are substantially more efficient at transporting traffic participants from one place to another. Given the fast-paced world of the 21st century, the road systems are generally designed in a fashion which favors the flow of vehicles with an engine at the expense of those without one. To exemplify, most cities in the world establish road designs with multiple automobile lanes as opposed to none or a single cycle lane.

Although entirely substituting modern transports with a more primitive one (the bicycle) would seem like a far-fetched outlook, it is indeed possible to scale up the number of bikes on the street. Firstly, the general public should be educated about bicycles’ environmental benefits in terms of carbon emission, as bicycles are far less carbon intensive per kilometer travelled compared to other vehicles. This insight into the environmental sphere would encourage a great proportion of environmentally-conscious individuals to switch to bikes when possible. At the same time, to allow these bicycle converts to travel at ease, a greater number of cycle lanes could be incorporated to the road systems. The city of Amsterdam, for instance, is renowned as a bicycle-friendly city thanks to its well-structured cycling infrastructure with multiple cycle lanes.

To sum up, the rising popularity of motorized vehicles and biased road systems favoring these are to blame for the downfall of bikes. Efforts to alter the status quo would involve programs aiming to raise the environmental benefits of bikes and a change in the road system.