Increased world demands for oil and gas have made it necessary to look for these sources of energy in remote, untouched natural places. Do you think the advantages of locating new sources of energy outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such places?

The fast dwindling of the world’s coal reserves have prompted modern people to seek alternative sources of energy in pristine environments. Many people, however, pondered on whether this practice could cause more harm than good. Personally, I am completely against it.

On the one hand, it is true that the inefficiency of renewables has induced mankind to search for resources in uncharted areas. Admittedly, fossil fuel is the perpetrator of air pollution, climate change and oil spills that heavily spoiled the environment humans are living in. Renewable energies such as nuclear, therefore, is undoubtedly a good option to substitute fossil fuel due to its abundance and environmental-friendliness. However, nuclear energy is highly dangerous and could lead to a catastrophe should the power be not properly contained. The accident of Chernobyl nuclear power plant, whose surroundings remain inhabitable for several decades, perfectly exemplifies this argument.

On the other hand, the exploitation of humans would exert a devastating effect on the environment that is often home to many wildlife species. Normally, resources deposited deeply under the earth surface require heavy machinery to explore and extract, emitting a significant amount of greenhouse gas and noise. In fact, numerous species have been on the edge of extinction since they have lost their homes to this kind of human activity. Moreover, greater exploitation incites greater consumption of energy, which also means that the environment will be more polluted due to the exhaust emissions released from traffic and industrial activities.