People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other
vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.
It is widely believed that one solution to environmental problems would be for
governments to raise the price of petrol. While I consider that this might be an
effective measure, I would argue that other measures might have an even greater
impact.
If national authorities raised taxes on petrol, this would address two environmental
issues. Firstly, in terms of private cars, motorists would limit the number and
length of their journeys to compensate for the extra expense. Governments would
then be forced to upgrade and expand public transport provision, as people would
still need to travel to work, to school or to travel to shops and hospitals, for
example. Secondly, from the perspective of freight services, more goods would
have to be transported by rail rather than by truck. Both these measures would cut
down on emissions from vehicles and help to reduce the greenhouse effect.
On the other hand, while this rise in fuel prices might be a useful stopgap measure,
governments could adopt transport policies which would be more effective in the
long term. The local authorities in London, for instance, introduced a congestion
charge on all vehicles visiting the city centre. They use the money raised to
subsidize the cost of fares and to invest in transport infrastructure. In turn, this has
improved the air quality in the city, as a result of the reduction in exhaust fumes.
Another policy would be to introduce free bus and train passes, as the increased use
of public transport would reduce pollution from private cars and help in the effort to
combat global warming.
In conclusion, a sharp rise in petrol prices would be a useful environmentallyfriendly transport measure, although in the longer term other steps would be more
effective.