A highly controversial today relates to whether to have merits from the population which are expected to live longer for companies, the economy and community or not. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then I give my own perspective on the matter.

On one side of the arguments, there are people who argue that the benefits considerately outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that older generation tend to get numerous practical skills and valuable experience to pass on to youngsters. As a results, collaboratively working among the elderly and younger co-workers can help improve work productivity and increase profits, thereby boosting economic growth. Furthermore, this tendency could be beneficial for local community. This is because old residents are more likely to have social responsibilities than the juveniles. For example, while I hardly have time to take part in charity activities or environmental campaigns, my grandfather is willing to assume these duties whenever possible.

On the other hand, it is necessary to make the opposite case. It is often argued that in fact aging demographics could be detrimental for not only financial but also social terms. First of all, the elderly staffs are less creative and innovative than the younger ones to keep pace with modern advances in this technology-based society, which leads companies to impediment from progress. This directly poses a threat to the sustainable development of a nation. In addition to, if the aging population is increasing, the government has to allocates a significant number of resources to retirement pension or medical services. Therefore, there is less investment in other important fields, such as education and sports facilities, leading to imbalances in rounded development.

In conclusion, I personally believe aging demographics could bring greater drawbacks for enterprises, the economy as well as residential living standards.