All students should study a foreign language, starting at an early age .

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

As known children study languages in school, some people suggest that they should learn a foreign language in the earliest grades. I agree with these people on providing a foreign language in early age. Learning at a younger age allows the child to learn the language in more depth and using a language at a smaller age is easier.

To begin with, the mother language is taught at a young age because they then start improving their language as they grow. Therefore, if the foreign language is taught alongside the mother language he or she can develop their language as they grow. In addition, it has been psychologically proven that people at a smaller age tend to absorb the information drastically faster than older people.

Moving on, it’s more difficult to introduce a new language at an older age. Since the child has been already focusing on only one language, it’s like moving to a different country and a new culture, causing a struggle to adjust. Unlike, if a child at a younger age traveled it won’t even matter because he didn’t get used to a specific culture.

To sum up, learning a foreign language at a lower age is more beneficial than learning at an older age. Adjusting to a new language at a smaller age has more advantages; hence I completely support the idea. Teaching the young is like engraving a rock and teaching the old is like engraving on water.