Although it is a freedom to use tobacco while some people think it should be made illegal as the same way as other drugs. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What’s your opinion?

Recent decades have witnessed an upsurge in the consumption of tobacco, raising many questions of health hazards. However, I partially disagree with their illegalization of tobacco despite some health problems related

On the one hand, it is true that usage of cigarettes could be fraught with many health hazards. The nicotine substance and other addictive chemicals released from tobacco could make users and many people around more sensitive to many crippling diseases such as diabetes and lung cancer, which is invariably associated with the decline in their life expectancy.

On the other hand, the tobacco prohibition could culminate in some negative consequences. First, Tobacco is proved to be the main source of an excise tax, accounting for the large proportion of total national revenue in both developed and developing nations. In fact, the legislation of tobacco prohibition has contributed to a fall by 5% in Singapore’s GDP, lessening capital investments in many public sectors. In addition, Ban on cigarettes actually is instrumental in the creation of drug cartels. This is implied that the criminalization of tobacco would force users to use other alternative drugs such as marijuana and heroin, which demands a higher degree of drug supply than ever and also leads to more health problems than tobacco.

In conclusion, The prohibition of cigarettes should not be incentivised due to some negative consequences pertaining to decrease in national capital and increase in the consumption of other drugs. However, Users should be aware of many health problems and restrict the consumption for the long-term benefits.