Although it is generally illegal, physical punishment continues in many countries. Some argue that parents should have the right to punish their children in this way. Do you agree or disagree?

It is undoubtedly that several parents keep corporal punishment of children in multiple countries even it is against the law. Some claim that this becomes the fundamental rights of parents to do so. I personally agree with this statement with some extent which I will explain why in this essay.

On the one hand, If parents punish their children within appropriate way, this will affect their mental health. For example, Indonesian children during adolescence cannot express themselves resulted from poor parenting system. Children who experience violence outside of his house tends to isolate themselves due to the pressure of being victims. Furthermore, juveniles growing up in emotional instability can accept physical beating as a negative behaviour. Psychologically, they most likely behave aggressive and violent ways towards their peers. In the future, these children will become abusive adults with high intensity to revenge or perpetuate the cycle of abuse.

On the other hand, the psychical discipline puts forward in teaching their children become law-abiding individual. In prosperous countries, especially Germany and Austria reach the top nations with 80% level of obedience among other countries worldwide, and thus driving a nation to be more and more progressed. In addition, corporal discipline gives deterrent effect on mischievous behaviour children are committed. As a result, children will be more conscious not to make the same mistakes for the consequences shapes them to avoid any illicit activities surroundings.

In conclusion, it seems to me that physical punishment is worth implementing because of the positive impact that children may gain including to discipline and put forward repellent effect on themselves. This is as long as caregivers could be qualified enough to ensure mental health of their children.