In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times, western clothing style is favoured by individuals in many countries rather than traditional fashion. This essay will outline the reasons behind the problem, however, I would initiate to greater disadvantages which I will elaborate.

First of all, one of noticeable reasons is that western styles involving formal attire is more likely presentable in professional life shaping individual’s personal value. Following that, most of multinational companies require job applicants to wear suits in interview sessions in which appearance look become remarkable assessment of employee code of ethics. Furthermore, along with long-term durability, jeans’ fabric composition can give wearer comfortable sense of on each seasons, particularly during winter. Natural Selection London presents that its extra layer of poly-blend cotton fibers as a thermal insulator that assures everyone keep warm.

On the other hand, we should emphasize some drawbacks of this is that more and more buyers show fewer interest in traditional costumes. Reported by Springer Link, there is only the small number of shops specifically operates traditional clothes nowadays. Due to less common for everyday wear, many economic activities in the field of traditional fashion have experienced losses or even bankruptcy. Moreover, the popular use of western outfit can lead to identity loss which has been experienced in Cambodia. It is incomparable that cultural uniform brings uniqueness and values representing some regions, so that those who should preserve its heritage value may contribute to cultural extinction in the long run.

To sum up, several reasonable factors lie behind the tendency of imitating western fashion in today’s era including well-fitted professional wear and trans-seasonal dressing. Meanwhile, I would refute the demerits of this ranging from the lack of native interest to the occurrence of cultural crisis.