In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this modern era, wearing traditional clothes becomes more unfamiliar in most countries than suits and jeans which is identically western culture. There are several reasons for this debatable topic and I consent to be more disadvantageous points which will be elaborated more below.

Regarding the causes, the western clothes being people’s favourites mostly is due to how massive influence the well-known people wear them. In conjunction with the spread fast-growing trend, suits and jeans also bring formality and simpler look to be chosen based on individuals' current occassions. Furthermore, to wear traditional clothes compared to the preferable ones seems more complicated, not only the way to dress dated constumes but also traditional events should be major consideration. To illustrate, wearing Baju Bodo, which is traditional constume from Indonesia has to represent the married events.

On the other side, this issue could bring drawback including the lost of individuals' national identity. The more people wear the same clothings, the more possible the traditional dress will disappear. Subsequently, the pride of ones' culture would diminish, new generation will barely inherit their original customs. In addition, disrespect value of native traditions might induce the social gap among groups of societies. The modern life style - more and more normalisation of western-types clothes - between young and old people frequently creates more common conflicts (behaviour and manner).

To sum up, traditional-dressed style taken over by western one may result from the great influence of celebrity and the complexity of wearing such style. Besides, I believe that the demerits of this are the disappearance of nationalism and the possibility of provoking conflicts.