Although it is generally prohibited, corporal punishment persists in many families. Do you think corporal punishment is an acceptable way to regulate children’s behaviors?

Physical punishment nowadays still exists negatively among a number of families even though it is already forbidden. It is such an unacceptable way to educate children due to its influences on their development.

The primary reason why I oppose this idea is that physical punishment may cause serious harm to children. In fact, parents can not always control their discipline appropriately, thus, some methods used to correct the offspring's behavior may turn into abuse and violence. Spanks, for instance, are widely accepted by many parents, yet unfortunately, most parents tend to hit harder when their children recommit the offense, hence the pain and injuries over them. In addition, several adults can not dominate their mood, then, they unexpectedly hit vulnerable parts such as the head or chest that put the child's physical health in jeopardy.

Another worth noting point is that corporal punishment has an adverse impact on mental health. Once children are exposed to intense and frequent physical punishment, they are more likely to feel hated and disregarded by adults, therefore, they may experience depression, anxiety, or hopelessness. Moreover, children can also lose their natural courage and motivation to try new ideas or hinder their imagination and creativity since they are confined to doing things with permission. In the long term, physical punishment will trigger off behavioral problems, for example, becoming aggressive and attacking siblings and peers or even forming antisocial behaviors such as thefts, robbery, and vandalism.

In conclusion, corporal punishment should not be a reasonable way to adjust children's conduct owing to its effects on both physical and emotional growth.