MANY PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT MODERN MUSIC CAN HAVE A NEGATIVE IMPACT ON THE YOUNG. OTHERS BELIEVE THE EFFECT OF MODERN MUSIC IS POSITIVE.

DISCUSS BOTH THESE VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

There is an ongoing discussion about innovative music that some have the idea that it may spoil young people whereas others are the opposite. However, from my perspective, it is how mature the audience will decide whether modern music is harmful or not.

On the one hand, there are some people who criticize modern music perhaps because it exposes youngsters and young adults to such sensitive and appropriate content, which somehow has an adverse influence on their mental development. It is several risky genres of music, such as rock, rap or hip-hop, contains a huge length of unacceptable lyrics and images that promote bullying, sex or violation of laws via using illegal drugs and marijuana. This in the long term probably makes a considerable change in the young’s personality as they will follow what happens in the songs, then trigger off a number of antisocial behaviours.

On the other hand, proponents of innovative music are more likely to suggest that music can be used as a practical way to express singers’ belief and successful life stories. There are a wide variety of helpful songs that raise the audience's awareness of what is happening around them, for instance, songs related to significant social issues such as politics and environmental themes, and these songs are able to create a wave of social change, especially among young people. Moreover, other songs appear to motivate young generations to pursue their dreams through telling them what this certain singer experienced and underwent to reach the top or how he or she dealt with depression, such as Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger and Titanium, by some well-known musicians.

Nevertheless, in my opinion, I would argue that effects of modern music definitely depend on the listener’s level of maturity and perception. If a person listening to music is mature enough to identify right and wrong and listens just to enjoy the song’s melody and rhythm, then he or she will not be affected by whatever message is conveyed. In contrast, if a person’s mind is still very young and gets easily carried away by what he sees or listens to, then he must be guided by parents on what types of songs he should listen to.

In conclusion, dangerous content in modern music seems to be the reason why such a view is held by some people while the fact that some other songs can deliver meaningful messages is what makes others believe the opposite. For all that, I believe age is a determining factor in the impacts of modern music.