Art classes should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

Art is an integral part to human's culture and tradition. It is thought that art lessons should be made mandatory for high school students. I somewhat disagree with this view as there are other subjects should be prioritized and adding arts to the schools' curriculum appear to be burdensome to teenager students, even though artistic subjects are in general beneficial for them.

Due to the enormous shift in today's world, students have to study more subjects in order to dealing with new challenges of modern job market and society. This movement requires students to equip knowledge of technology, foreign language, and other lifesaver skills. If high chool learners do not study the new breed of knowledge, they are at risk of missing employment opportunities as well as ability to facilitate the use upcoming breakthrough inventions.

Another explaination opposing to forcing students in high school learning art classes is that students who are already under the extreme pressure of assimilating scientific and natural content, may find it difficult to absorb artistic lessons. It is undisputed that adolescents nowadays are studying more than their counterparts in the past in terms of the number of hours and the amount of knowledge. Given teenagers' hectic schedule at school, teaching art would exert more constraints on these individuals.

Admittedly, the role of art is of great importance for educating students about cultural identity and traditions. If artistic subjects are completely eliminated from schools' teaching subjects, children may not acknowlege the values of their heritage and do not feel the sense of national pride. However, education about arts could be organized as occasional events at high school system in order to provide students with necessary knowlege in stead of being fixed in the curriculum.

In sum, while addition of art to high school classes could waste students' time on other more important subjects and causing negative impacts of these people, arts could be sometimes taught for high school students in special occasions. Therefore, I side with the viewpoint that art should not become compulsory but temporary classes.