As an Asian youth, what do you think is the greatest challenge to regional development and what do you think is the role of young people in addressing it?

There is an increasingly ubiquitous belief that poverty acts as a deterrent to regional development. From my perspective, I totally agree with this idea.

There are various reasons why this phenomenon has a devastating effect on numerous communities. Firstly, poverty results in the degradation of the education system indispensable to enhance personal development. A substantial number of inhabitants, especially adolescents, barely having opportunities to accumulate knowledge due to the shortage of funds has a tendency to deteriorate the national development. Secondly, public health services will be exacerbated if poverty is perpetuated. As the healthcare system is incapable of providing citizens with cures for detrimental diseases which pose a threat to the human race, the figure for the population will experience a dramatic decline, minimizing the number of up-and-coming young people who could make a huge contribution to the regional development.

As a young and energetic generation, I am of the opinion that my peers and I have a vital role in the process of preventing poverty from continuously taking place. One utilitarian solution is that we will make strenuous efforts to associate with international technical assistance. If developing nations achieve support regarding innovative technology in manufacture and other fields, a myriad of commodities will be produced in a short period of time. Thus the unemployment rate will plummet significantly and there will be an increase in national income, paving the way for regional development. In order to implement the aforementioned method, the young generation should set their sight on taking their understanding further. Putting more effort into studying and participating in cultural exchange programs will be ideal choices for generation Z.

In conclusion, I believe young people should spend time accumulating knowledge and building a relationship with friends living beyond their national boundaries to contribute to national development.