As an Asian youth, what do you think is the greatest challenge to regional development and what do you think is the role of young people in addressing it?

There is an increasingly ubiquitous belief that there are various obstacles which Asian countries have to cope with. From my perspective, I believe poverty is the greatest challenge of all.

There are several reasons why this phenomenon has a devastating effect on numerous communities. Firstly, poverty acts a deterrent to economic development. Due to the shortage of financial funds for mass production, citizens living in a particular region have to make strenuous efforts to produce goods but they only generate a trivial amount of merchandise in a short period, preventing the region from enhancing the living standards. Secondly, poverty results in the degradation of the education system essential to enhance personal development. Therefore, adolescents barely having opportunities to accumulate knowledge, which deters them from engaging in developing the economy.

As a young generation, I am of the opinion that my peers and I have a vital role in the process of curbing poverty from continuously taking place. One thing we can do is putting more efforts to associate with international technical assistance. If developing nations achieve supports regarding innovative technology in the manufacture, numerous commodities will be produced in a short period, and thus the unemployment rate will plummet significantly and there will be an increase in the national income, paving the way for regional development. Additionally, in order to deal with the lack of the educational standard, my companions and I are able to organize unsolicited classes for impoverished children. Although these educational provisions are not as solid as that of prestigious institutions, I assume it would make contributions to alleviating the aforementioned issue.

In conclusion, I believe young people should participating in charitable activities such as teaching disadvantaged children and building relationships with friends living beyond their national boundaries to address poverty.