The best way to reduce youth crime is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays crime and violence has become very common among young people. educating parents with parenting skills is the ideal path to prevent crimes committed by youngsters. I feel that this could be one of the ways to face such issues but, this alone cannot solve the scenario's leading to crimes, as I think crime among younger population is a multi-factorial problem and children also need to be educated together with the society and teachers to have a positive impact.

Firstly, no doubt responsibility of a parent is imperative in the behavioral development of the youth, but it is not wise to solely blame the family members for certain characteristics of a child. Moreover, a young person should have all the opportunities to get educated. educating children by sending them to schools were they are taught moral values is a better option and not completely relying on parental skills, which might be impossible for some people to get due to various reasons such as lack of time, finances and even interest itself. Hence, it will be a total waste if we try to approach this problem in this way.

Secondly, society plays a vital role in achieving changes in the mind of a adolescent, simply by creating new rules and taking stringent action against crimes, would install fear in the brains of the people. For example, decreasing the punishable age for youth shall instil some fear towards crime. Furthermore, educators in schools and colleges need to constantly remind their pupils about the anti-social activities, which may land them in to trouble.

To summaraise, I feel that, just by imparting parenting skills in mothers and fathers is not going to have a major impact in the youth, who are drifting towards criminal activities. Eventually this can only be tackled by multidimensional approach involving the community, teachers and parents.