The best way to solve environmental pollution is increasing the price of fuel. What exent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying that fossil fuel plays the most crucial part in this industrialized world. Nonetheless, it is also the determinant factor in making the problem of environmental pollution become worse and worse. Therefore, some people suggest that it would be better if the government intensify the price of fuel. However, from my perspective, I wholeheartedly disagree with this motion as it is awfully wrong-headed.

To commence with, it is undeniable that the significant rise in fossil fuel price will entail a lower living standard of individuals. This policy is highly likely to make people have to spend a disproportionate share of their income on the home appliances running on natural gas such as cooking appliances, laundry and water appliances, home heating, transports and safety concerns. As a result, individuals will find it difficult to find the right balance in their daily expense. An incredible high cost of fossil fuel will driven people to the verge of opting out of those modern appliances requiring petrol, which can definitely lead to a lower living condition of people.

Apart from that, this solution can exert a negative impact on the development of the country. Initially, in all likelihood, public protest, agitation and rebellion will happen on the grounds that people strongly object to this new method. For example, in France, due to the fuel tax rise, there is a violent protest across the country mainly from low or middle income families, which leaves a long lasting effect on the socio economic development. Furthermore, companies will have to meet many hardships and challenges when facing up to the problem of buying natural gas for production as well as selling their own products. If they go bankrupt and cause great economic loss, the country has to suffer from a new recession and incapable of stimulating the development in other fields to the full extent.

To recapitulate, I am totally against this idea as not only can it not address the environmental pollution but it also induces terrible results.