Most teachers think homework is necessary. How far do you agree?

There is no denying that whether or not homework should be given to students has been a controversial matter. Regards to the conventional teaching methods, most teachers agree that homework is essential. Nevertheless, I am totally against this statement as it is awfully wrongheaded.

To commence with, it is obviously proven that homework has exerted a negative impact on the cognitive development of students especially children. Beside having studied about five or seven hours at school along with extra classes, pupils are forced to go through a tough schedule at home with the aim of accomplishing their tasks. There is a likelihood that students will have to struggle with tiredness, frustration, depression, which has a detrimental effect not only on students’ mental and physical health but also on the development of the society.

Furthermore, when homework plays an indispensable part in students’ timetable, they will find it impossible to engage in some extra curricular activities making an enormous contribution to the process of broadening their network accompanied by enhancing soft and social skills. This situation leads to the fact that a great number of pupils are aptitude for theory but incapable of working being successful in workplace owing to the lack of some requisite skills for nowadays jobs such as problem solving, communication, or teamwork.

For instance, it is undoubted that Finland education is considered as the best educational system in the world. This is partly due to the idea that it is dispensable to give students homework with a view to helping them have adequate time and energy to balance their life as well as strengthen their social skills.

To sum up, I wholeheartedly believe that homework should not be given to students.