Buying things on the internet such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages.

The last decade has witnessed a tremendous increase in the rate of online shopping sue to rising technological advancements. While there seems to be obvious benefits of this growing trend, this essay will state that the benefits of shopping via the internet are eclipsed by its drawbacks because of the risk of buying unneeded items and a tendency to become wasteful.

A major advantage of shopping online appears to be the ease and convenience which it offers to clients. A recent report in the UK showed that this was the most popular reason customers gave for shopping with this means, accounting for nearly half of all purchases in the UK in 2018 alone. With easy to use gadgets like smartphones and tablet devices, consumers can now buy things from the comfort of their homes or offices at seemingly affordable prices with no extra time spent. Furthermore, is the variety on choice it offers, so that individuals can purchase from a list of unlimited items on the net. These benefit appears to be overwhelmingly positive.

Admittedly, this shopping method saves times. However, it does not afford users the opportunity to try out the items bought in order to make sure it appeals to them. An instance would be in the area of grocery shopping as consumers may not infact be able to select ingredients they really desire. Hence, it is often the case that these clients are left unsatisfied having purchased commodities that is unappealing and so they are unable to use it ultimately resulting in waste. This possible inclination towards wasteful spending from buying unnecessary items was further seen in the 2019 Mega Monday held in the UK, as reports noted that approximately 70% of customers maxed out on their credit limits having incurred prohibitive costs from repetitive purchases. One final point against this shopping experience is its effect on the High streets as it would mean a decline in the sales and profit of other shopping outlets, and of course, in no time they could be out of business. These speak volumes about the possible ills of this shopping method.

Overall, the Comfort of shopping online are overshadowed by the drawbacks accruing from it's prodigal tendencies. Having weighed up the pros and cons, it would appear that a limit to the use of online shopping is surely needed.